1. Same story, different day...........year ie more of the same fiat floods the world
    Dismiss Notice
  2. There are no markets
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Week of 6/24/2017 Closing prices & Chg Over Last Wk---- Gold $1256.40 Silver $16.64 Oil $43.01 USD $96.94
  4. "Spreading the ideas of freedom loving people on matters regarding high finance, politics, constructionist Constitution, and mental masturbation of all types"
    Dismiss Notice

Building Your Own Computers

Discussion in 'Computers' started by searcher, Dec 13, 2016.



  1. searcher

    searcher Mother Lode Found Site Supporter ++ Mother Lode

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    119,952
    Likes Received:
    36,273
    Trophy Points:
    113
  2. birddog

    birddog Gold Member Gold Chaser

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2,316
    Likes Received:
    2,372
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I saw this site that lets you build a minecraft raspberry pi laptop for kids...

    Tempted to get it for my son. https://playpiper.com/
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2016
  3. mayhem

    mayhem Другая перспектива Silver Miner Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    3,264
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    New South America
    Bunch of idiots.
    I doubt that it would take more than 20 minutes to assemble the whole thing.
     
    Zed, Goldhedge and the_shootist like this.
  4. the_shootist

    the_shootist I self identify as a black '69 Camaro Midas Member Site Supporter ++

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    13,273
    Likes Received:
    13,048
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Architect
    Location:
    Cow Hampshire
    I built hundreds of machines in the past and yeah, everything just plugs in really easy.
     
    Flight2gold likes this.
  5. mayhem

    mayhem Другая перспектива Silver Miner Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    3,264
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    New South America
    Can you imagine those two trying to plug in a x86 processor with lot's pins on each side?

    I still have the compartment box with standoffs, all the different screws, etc. Pretty much don't need them any longer as like you said everything clicks in now-a-days. Remember changing crystals to up your 386/20 to a 386/40?
     
  6. ErrosionOfAccord

    ErrosionOfAccord #1 Global Warmer Gold Chaser Site Supporter ++

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,564
    Likes Received:
    2,317
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Energy Extraction
    Location:
    Coal Country
    I used to build my own. It's the only way to build a desktop but, It's been so long I would be lost today. Been at least ten years since I went to laptops. The biggest mistake they made? Windows 10.
     
  7. Goldhedge

    Goldhedge Modal Operator/Moderator Site Mgr Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    27,061
    Likes Received:
    29,777
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Tech
    meh, it isn't much different today. The cables are smaller (no ribbon) and it's all plug-n-play color coordinated.

    You just have to study up on how many extra slots if you're gonna get a video card that requires headroom and space.
     
    Flight2gold and ErrosionOfAccord like this.
  8. viking

    viking Silver Member Silver Miner

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    901
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I build my own smart phones...
     
  9. nickndfl

    nickndfl Midas Member Midas Member Site Supporter ++

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    10,516
    Likes Received:
    7,862
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Florida
    They should have a build-your-own sex robot.
     
    Cigarlover and mayhem like this.
  10. Zed

    Zed Size doesn't count! Midas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,030
    Likes Received:
    8,913
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Nuclear Technician
    Location:
    Springfield
    It's easy, just check component compatibility and you are good to go. Bang for buck I spend more on good RAM and a good SSD than a top end processor but that is about the only rule I have... bar checking out the mobo's quality.
     
  11. Zed

    Zed Size doesn't count! Midas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,030
    Likes Received:
    8,913
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Nuclear Technician
    Location:
    Springfield
    That is harder!
     
    mayhem likes this.
  12. mayhem

    mayhem Другая перспектива Silver Miner Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    3,264
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    New South America
    Especially if your wife finds out.
     
    Zed likes this.
  13. nickndfl

    nickndfl Midas Member Midas Member Site Supporter ++

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    10,516
    Likes Received:
    7,862
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Florida
     
    Cigarlover and Zed like this.
  14. ttazzman

    ttazzman Midas Member Midas Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,447
    Likes Received:
    3,410
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    commercial/ industrial-construction/engineering/ma
    Location:
    mid-usa
    they did and disguised it as a shop vac...........lol.......all you gotta do is buy the linda lovelace lips attachment......lol
     
  15. Fjpod

    Fjpod Silver Member Silver Miner

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    181
    Trophy Points:
    43
    We use about 35 desktop computers in my business. Nothing special, just basic. I used to assemble them myself, but then I discovered refurbished and off-lease business units from Tiger and Newegg. Way cheaper. And they last longer because they were built for business.
     
  16. MIavatar

    MIavatar Seeker

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    I found all these HP workstations for $7 each in a bulk buy. So now I have a ton of these things sitting around lol. They're still capable units. With dual core AMD phenom 2.2 ghz, 1 GB RAM, 80 GB HD, integrated GFX. Upgradeable to quad core phenom, 8GB RAM, and full size PCIE-16 slot for big GFX card.

    I've been taking them apart for power supplies etc.. Any one needs any components I prolly got em for a few bucks each.


    IMG_20161215_130855.jpg

    IMG_20161215_130939.jpg

    IMG_20161215_131202.jpg
     
    Cigarlover likes this.
  17. Fjpod

    Fjpod Silver Member Silver Miner

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    181
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Lol. I keep a junk pile too.
     
  18. Goldhedge

    Goldhedge Modal Operator/Moderator Site Mgr Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    27,061
    Likes Received:
    29,777
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Tech
    Best part about these boxes! Otherwise not so good. Screaming deal at $7 a pop.

    If you need processors et al www.pricewatch.com is a great site for comparison shopping.
     
  19. searcher

    searcher Mother Lode Found Site Supporter ++ Mother Lode

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    119,952
    Likes Received:
    36,273
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Hack: Digital Projector with Raspberry Pi, PiTFT and Slide Projector
    The Post Apocalyptic Inventor



    Published on Dec 16, 2016
    My Patreon:
    https://www.patreon.com/TPAI

    Paypal-Donation Link on the bottom of this site:
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDbW...

    First Video about Slide Projector:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AC6Ui...

    Videos about my other DIY-Projectors:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0vALl...
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pRTg1...

    2.2'' PiTFT on Adafruit-Website:
    https://www.adafruit.com/product/2315
     
  20. the_shootist

    the_shootist I self identify as a black '69 Camaro Midas Member Site Supporter ++

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    13,273
    Likes Received:
    13,048
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Architect
    Location:
    Cow Hampshire
    Did you ever bend a cpu pin trying to get it in or out of the socket? You haven't lived until you go through that entertaining exercise :)
     
    mayhem likes this.
  21. Irons

    Irons Deep Sixed Site Supporter Mother Lode

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    22,172
    Likes Received:
    27,590
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Just bought a NIB HP Elitebook 840 G2 for $475 free ship. Win 7 Pro installed with win 10 discs, 180 gig SSD, Intel Core i5 5300U 2.3 GHz and 8 gig of RAM. I installed another 8 g of ram to max it out. That's as far as building a computer I will ever get is adding RAM, lol.
    Very nice machine super smooth and light.

    It's the last of the HP Elitebook's that have the entire back panel pop off with one switch. The G3's have a dozen tiny screws and plugs.
    They don't want you getting inside so easy anymore.

    RS1.jpg RS2.jpg RS4.jpg
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2016
    searcher, mayhem and Zed like this.
  22. Irons

    Irons Deep Sixed Site Supporter Mother Lode

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    22,172
    Likes Received:
    27,590
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Oh yeah if you fine folks ever want to see how your processor compares to others try this site here: http://cpuboss.com/

    I was all hung up on getting a machine with a Intel i 7 processor until I started comparing their performance.
    The Intel Core i5 5300U dual core (generation 5) is a gem in the processor world. The little bastid is inexpensive and fast!
    So I looked for a NIB machine that had one.

    .
     
    searcher and mayhem like this.
  23. Zed

    Zed Size doesn't count! Midas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,030
    Likes Received:
    8,913
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Nuclear Technician
    Location:
    Springfield
    Yeah I have heard that the new i5 kinda kills the case for the i7, I guess a new i7 is on the way... not that I have been watching closely.

    In my experience processor isn't THAT important, a well matched system will go better than a bad system with a high spec processor. A well designed mobo will make a bigger difference that most would credit. I use AMD processors, fast RAM, fast SSD and the best mobo I can get. Normally the systems out perform anything my users demand or expect and they cost less.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2016
    mayhem and Irons like this.
  24. mayhem

    mayhem Другая перспектива Silver Miner Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    3,264
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    New South America
    I have always believed that it's about the motherboard and high quality ram then fit in the best processor.

    Zed, you really like the AMD's w/graphics onboard rather than a high end graphics card?
     
  25. Zed

    Zed Size doesn't count! Midas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,030
    Likes Received:
    8,913
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Nuclear Technician
    Location:
    Springfield
    Yeah I'd say so...

    For guys that don't game I have had great success with the A-Series chips, nobody has complained about a system I have built that way. For my use I will go that way next time, the built in graphics are now more than enough for me. I guess if I had to build a system for intensive graphic use I'd go with a high end card, but I am unlikely to need to do that. My guess is that the on-chip stuff is good enough to eliminate the need for a good chunk of the low end graphics cards. 10 years ago I would always go with a graphics card, now not so much.

    What do you think/do?
     
    mayhem and the_shootist like this.
  26. mayhem

    mayhem Другая перспектива Silver Miner Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    3,264
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    New South America
    Well I just put one together with a AMD chip, 8gig and a 1 terrabyte drive I had, so I didn't go with a SSD,(yet) I used the onboard graphics, and run some tests that said the graphics were the weakest part of the system. Hey, I haven't built one in at least 6 years and everything has changed. I was given a ASUS MB along with the chip, it only has one slot (I assume it was designed for gaming) I have a NIVIA card laying around and thought I might put that in and see if it helps. No I don't do gaming, and the build really is fine for what I do now-a-days. I mostly use this Acer Chromebook in Dev mode, with Cruton and Linux, because I'm to lazy to flash it with SeaBois and just kill the Chrome OS all together.

    It's not like I'm going to scrap it and start all over. :-)
     
  27. ErrosionOfAccord

    ErrosionOfAccord #1 Global Warmer Gold Chaser Site Supporter ++

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,564
    Likes Received:
    2,317
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Energy Extraction
    Location:
    Coal Country
    If I were to build one, I'd go high end on the graphics card. I don't game often enough to justify it anymore but, it's nice to have when you decide to buy a game. I've been a fan of ID Games since Quake and threw down on the latest rendition of DOOM. Had my neck fused and needed something to pass the time. I played it on a six year old MSI laptop that just barely got the job done. When I bought the machine it was close to the high end of the spectrum, cost about $2000. If this machine ever breaks beyond repair I'll replace it with another MSI, it's been the best computer I've ever owned including those I've built. Last word, I'll never own anything by HP again.

    Bonus last word, ESET for virus software.
     
  28. mayhem

    mayhem Другая перспектива Silver Miner Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    3,264
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    New South America
    If I add the drivers and stick the Nivia card in, will the processor know that it no longer needs to do graphics, and will I gain any performance? AMD is new to me, and I been asleep for 6 years.
     
  29. Zed

    Zed Size doesn't count! Midas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,030
    Likes Received:
    8,913
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Nuclear Technician
    Location:
    Springfield
    I used an A10 on the last build for a relative. I might bench mark the graphics next time I am around there, you have me curious now. I never thought too much about it because I knew they'd be sufficient.
     
  30. Zed

    Zed Size doesn't count! Midas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,030
    Likes Received:
    8,913
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Nuclear Technician
    Location:
    Springfield
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2016
    mayhem likes this.
  31. Zed

    Zed Size doesn't count! Midas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,030
    Likes Received:
    8,913
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Nuclear Technician
    Location:
    Springfield
    Yes, the OS should use the card drivers and just ignore the on-chip stuff + you will be plugged into the back of the card so the OS will not see a monitor present on the chip controlled graphics ports.
     
    mayhem likes this.
  32. nickndfl

    nickndfl Midas Member Midas Member Site Supporter ++

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    10,516
    Likes Received:
    7,862
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Florida
    I edit lots of bulky video in my business and must have very capable computers or there is not enough time to perform other tasks. The best all around notebooks for business are Dell Latitudes. Mine have i7s and 256gb SSDs. The SSD is a big difference from traditional spinning SATA HDDs. I also run 16 GB of RAM in each.

    I recently purchased a Dell return for $400 with W7 and a dedicated graphics card. The graphics are slightly better, but it gives it back in speed. I would rather have the speed for productivity reasons. In addition, I need W7 to run MS Streets & Trips which is no longer available. I have a backup copy of that.
     
  33. mayhem

    mayhem Другая перспектива Silver Miner Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,807
    Likes Received:
    3,264
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    New South America
    I'm sure it isn't a A-10, I mean the guy gave it to me board and all. It is a gift for the grandson, wife decided that this morning.

    Going to be busy for a few days, gotta replace a Honda pressure washer carb and plug, then need to find out why this Gentrac 10 yr. old genset won't start.
    For me it life is day to day, and thank God I've been having some good ones lately.
     
    Zed likes this.
  34. searcher

    searcher Mother Lode Found Site Supporter ++ Mother Lode

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    119,952
    Likes Received:
    36,273
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Giving a 7-year-old computer a second life
    Stewie2552



    Published on Aug 8, 2015
    Fixing up and giving life to a 7-year-old computer. Basically a quick little vlog as I do some quick upgrades to make an old computer run like "new" again. This can be useful to get basic computers running again. Obviously, this isn't a mega upgrade, but for online usage and word processing, it works great.
     
    Cigarlover likes this.
  35. searcher

    searcher Mother Lode Found Site Supporter ++ Mother Lode

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    119,952
    Likes Received:
    36,273
    Trophy Points:
    113
    10.5-inch iPad Pro Display Assembly Repair Guide - Fixes.com
    Fixez.com



    Published on Jun 29, 2017
    iPad Pro 10.5" Screen Replacements and Repair Parts: http://bit.ly/2smL46b

    iPad DIY Repair Tools: http://bit.ly/2lzLIop

    Watch the Official 10.5-inch iPad Pro Display Assembly Repair Guide. Following the step-by-step iPad Pro 10.5" screen replacement instructions we have provided will help you safely fix a cracked or damaged 10.5-inch (diagonal) LED-backlit Multi-Touch display. Visit Fixez.com for all of the DIY iPad Pro replacement screens, parts and tools you need to fix your phone quickly, and affordably.

    If you need your Apple tablet repaired ASAP instead- we have you covered there too. Contact one of our skilled technicians at 866-233-6460 or support@fixez.com and they will fix your device for you. They are available Monday - Friday, 9am to 5pm PST.

    Subscribe to our YouTube Channel for additional DIY smartphone and tablet teardown and repair videos! https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDJr...
    Like us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/fixez.com
    Follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/fixezdotcom

    iPad Pro 10.5" Display Assembly Repair Video Steps:

    Step 1

    • Power down your 10.5-inch iPad Pro tablet.

    Step 2 (iPad Pro 10.5 Display Assembly)

    • The fully laminated 10.5-inch iPad Pro Oxide TFT “True Tone” display assembly is glued on solidly and is a tight fit within the rear case. Apply heat to soften the adhesive.

    • Use the precision knife to create enough space to insert a triangle opening tool.

    • Use triangle opening tools to slice thru the strong adhesive and carefully decouple the iPad Pro screen. Don't try to fully separate the display yet, as several fragile ribbon cables still connect it to the iPad’s logic board.

    • Remove the following 2 Phillips screws securing the bracket that covers the display’s cables.

    • With the bracket out of the way, detach the cables from the logic board and free the 10.5-inch iPad Pro display assembly.

    Step 3 (iPad Pro 10.5 Home Button and Touch ID Assembly)

    • Peel up the piece of black tape.

    • Release the ZIF connector and carefully slide out the home button assembly cable.

    • The bracket that secures the iPad Pro home button and touch ID is held in place with two gobs of adhesive. Use the spudger to pry it up from the front panel.

    • Remove the 10.5-inch iPad Pro home button and touch ID assembly.


    * To reassemble your device, follow the steps in reverse order.
     
  36. GOLDBRIX

    GOLDBRIX God,Donald Trump,most in GIM2 I Trust. OTHERS-meh Site Supporter Platinum Bling

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,973
    Likes Received:
    4,602
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah B..A..B..Y!!!!
    [​IMG]
     
  37. Bottom Feeder

    Bottom Feeder Hypophthalmichthys molitrix Silver Miner Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    1,179
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Seattle
    Damn, search, ya lost me there at step 2, paragraph 3.
    Seriously - 'slice it open'? Do people even attempt to try this at home?

    BF
     
  38. Cigarlover

    Cigarlover Gold Member Gold Chaser

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,433
    Likes Received:
    2,882
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I've got 2 old computers, both bought at wal mart for like 300 bucks but I'm not a gamer. They used to fire right up and run great. Now it takes a loooooooong time for them to fire up from a cold start. Normally I just leave the one on all the time. The other had issues where it would just go into sleep mode all the time and wouldnt come out unless you turned it off and then back on.

    Since 'm not really using the other one anyway I thought about maybe trying to learn how to do all this cp stuff. I figure if I am sucessful with one then I'll try to upgrade this one as well. One thing I would like is a machine that can handle doing some video editing. I did try to install an editor recently and it slowed my machine way down so had to take it out. Looking at running final cut software.

    So where do I start, is there a good video on specifics like how to tell what is even in my machine and what parts would be compatable with it?
     
    Goldhedge likes this.
  39. Goldhedge

    Goldhedge Modal Operator/Moderator Site Mgr Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    27,061
    Likes Received:
    29,777
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Tech
    Define "old"... it might be they are too old to use...
     
  40. Cigarlover

    Cigarlover Gold Member Gold Chaser

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2,433
    Likes Received:
    2,882
    Trophy Points:
    113
    7 or 8 years.
     

Share This Page