1. Metals try to capitalize in market weakness with dollar weakness ie choppy
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good Thur Morning! Gold is down 1.3 to 1248. Silver is flat at 1757. Crude +16 to 4820. The USD is up 17 to 9964.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Week of 3/18/2017 Closing prices & Chg Over Last Wk---- Gold $1230.20-- UP 28.8 Silver $17.41-- UP 49 Oil $49.31-- UP 82 TICS USD $100.11 -- DOWN 100 tics Based on near term futures contract--- At JMB Current price AGE 2017 $1299.09 (1), SAE $20.54 (20)

Building Your Own Computers

Discussion in 'Computers' started by searcher, Dec 13, 2016.



  1. searcher

    searcher Mother Lode Found Site Supporter ++ Mother Lode

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    103,021
    Likes Received:
    34,051
    Trophy Points:
    113
  2. birddog

    birddog Gold Member Gold Chaser

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    2,261
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I saw this site that lets you build a minecraft raspberry pi laptop for kids...

    Tempted to get it for my son. https://playpiper.com/
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2016
  3. mayhem

    mayhem A Different Perspective Seeker

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,330
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Dixie
    Bunch of idiots.
    I doubt that it would take more than 20 minutes to assemble the whole thing.
     
    Zed, Goldhedge and the_shootist like this.
  4. the_shootist

    the_shootist I self identify as a black '69 Camaro Midas Member Site Supporter ++

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    11,031
    Likes Received:
    10,457
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Architect
    Location:
    Cow Hampshire
    I built hundreds of machines in the past and yeah, everything just plugs in really easy.
     
    Flight2gold likes this.
  5. mayhem

    mayhem A Different Perspective Seeker

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,330
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Dixie
    Can you imagine those two trying to plug in a x86 processor with lot's pins on each side?

    I still have the compartment box with standoffs, all the different screws, etc. Pretty much don't need them any longer as like you said everything clicks in now-a-days. Remember changing crystals to up your 386/20 to a 386/40?
     
  6. ErrosionOfAccord

    ErrosionOfAccord #1 Global Warmer Gold Chaser Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Energy Extraction
    Location:
    Coal Country
    I used to build my own. It's the only way to build a desktop but, It's been so long I would be lost today. Been at least ten years since I went to laptops. The biggest mistake they made? Windows 10.
     
  7. Goldhedge

    Goldhedge Modal Operator/Moderator Site Mgr Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    25,921
    Likes Received:
    27,751
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Tech
    meh, it isn't much different today. The cables are smaller (no ribbon) and it's all plug-n-play color coordinated.

    You just have to study up on how many extra slots if you're gonna get a video card that requires headroom and space.
     
    Flight2gold and ErrosionOfAccord like this.
  8. viking

    viking Silver Member Silver Miner

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    823
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I build my own smart phones...
     
  9. nickndfl

    nickndfl Midas Member Midas Member Site Supporter ++

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    9,286
    Likes Received:
    6,457
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Florida
    They should have a build-your-own sex robot.
     
    mayhem likes this.
  10. Zed

    Zed Size doesn't count! Midas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10,488
    Likes Received:
    8,151
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Nuclear Technician
    Location:
    Springfield
    It's easy, just check component compatibility and you are good to go. Bang for buck I spend more on good RAM and a good SSD than a top end processor but that is about the only rule I have... bar checking out the mobo's quality.
     
  11. Zed

    Zed Size doesn't count! Midas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10,488
    Likes Received:
    8,151
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Nuclear Technician
    Location:
    Springfield
    That is harder!
     
    mayhem likes this.
  12. mayhem

    mayhem A Different Perspective Seeker

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,330
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Dixie
    Especially if your wife finds out.
     
    Zed likes this.
  13. nickndfl

    nickndfl Midas Member Midas Member Site Supporter ++

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    9,286
    Likes Received:
    6,457
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Florida
     
    Zed likes this.
  14. ttazzman

    ttazzman Midas Member Midas Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,207
    Likes Received:
    2,888
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    commercial/ industrial-construction/engineering/ma
    Location:
    mid-usa
    they did and disguised it as a shop vac...........lol.......all you gotta do is buy the linda lovelace lips attachment......lol
     
  15. Fjpod

    Fjpod Silver Member Silver Miner

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    43
    We use about 35 desktop computers in my business. Nothing special, just basic. I used to assemble them myself, but then I discovered refurbished and off-lease business units from Tiger and Newegg. Way cheaper. And they last longer because they were built for business.
     
  16. MIavatar

    MIavatar Seeker

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    I found all these HP workstations for $7 each in a bulk buy. So now I have a ton of these things sitting around lol. They're still capable units. With dual core AMD phenom 2.2 ghz, 1 GB RAM, 80 GB HD, integrated GFX. Upgradeable to quad core phenom, 8GB RAM, and full size PCIE-16 slot for big GFX card.

    I've been taking them apart for power supplies etc.. Any one needs any components I prolly got em for a few bucks each.


    IMG_20161215_130855.jpg

    IMG_20161215_130939.jpg

    IMG_20161215_131202.jpg
     
  17. Fjpod

    Fjpod Silver Member Silver Miner

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Lol. I keep a junk pile too.
     
  18. Goldhedge

    Goldhedge Modal Operator/Moderator Site Mgr Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    25,921
    Likes Received:
    27,751
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Tech
    Best part about these boxes! Otherwise not so good. Screaming deal at $7 a pop.

    If you need processors et al www.pricewatch.com is a great site for comparison shopping.
     
  19. searcher

    searcher Mother Lode Found Site Supporter ++ Mother Lode

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    103,021
    Likes Received:
    34,051
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Hack: Digital Projector with Raspberry Pi, PiTFT and Slide Projector
    The Post Apocalyptic Inventor



    Published on Dec 16, 2016
    My Patreon:
    https://www.patreon.com/TPAI

    Paypal-Donation Link on the bottom of this site:
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDbW...

    First Video about Slide Projector:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AC6Ui...

    Videos about my other DIY-Projectors:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0vALl...
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pRTg1...

    2.2'' PiTFT on Adafruit-Website:
    https://www.adafruit.com/product/2315
     
  20. the_shootist

    the_shootist I self identify as a black '69 Camaro Midas Member Site Supporter ++

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    11,031
    Likes Received:
    10,457
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Architect
    Location:
    Cow Hampshire
    Did you ever bend a cpu pin trying to get it in or out of the socket? You haven't lived until you go through that entertaining exercise :)
     
    mayhem likes this.
  21. Irons

    Irons Deep Sixed Site Supporter Mother Lode

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    20,838
    Likes Received:
    24,175
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Just bought a NIB HP Elitebook 840 G2 for $475 free ship. Win 7 Pro installed with win 10 discs, 180 gig SSD, Intel Core i5 5300U 2.3 GHz and 8 gig of RAM. I installed another 8 g of ram to max it out. That's as far as building a computer I will ever get is adding RAM, lol.
    Very nice machine super smooth and light.

    It's the last of the HP Elitebook's that have the entire back panel pop off with one switch. The G3's have a dozen tiny screws and plugs.
    They don't want you getting inside so easy anymore.

    RS1.jpg RS2.jpg RS4.jpg
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2016
    searcher, mayhem and Zed like this.
  22. Irons

    Irons Deep Sixed Site Supporter Mother Lode

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    20,838
    Likes Received:
    24,175
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Oh yeah if you fine folks ever want to see how your processor compares to others try this site here: http://cpuboss.com/

    I was all hung up on getting a machine with a Intel i 7 processor until I started comparing their performance.
    The Intel Core i5 5300U dual core (generation 5) is a gem in the processor world. The little bastid is inexpensive and fast!
    So I looked for a NIB machine that had one.

    .
     
    searcher and mayhem like this.
  23. Zed

    Zed Size doesn't count! Midas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10,488
    Likes Received:
    8,151
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Nuclear Technician
    Location:
    Springfield
    Yeah I have heard that the new i5 kinda kills the case for the i7, I guess a new i7 is on the way... not that I have been watching closely.

    In my experience processor isn't THAT important, a well matched system will go better than a bad system with a high spec processor. A well designed mobo will make a bigger difference that most would credit. I use AMD processors, fast RAM, fast SSD and the best mobo I can get. Normally the systems out perform anything my users demand or expect and they cost less.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2016
    mayhem and Irons like this.
  24. mayhem

    mayhem A Different Perspective Seeker

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,330
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Dixie
    I have always believed that it's about the motherboard and high quality ram then fit in the best processor.

    Zed, you really like the AMD's w/graphics onboard rather than a high end graphics card?
     
  25. Zed

    Zed Size doesn't count! Midas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10,488
    Likes Received:
    8,151
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Nuclear Technician
    Location:
    Springfield
    Yeah I'd say so...

    For guys that don't game I have had great success with the A-Series chips, nobody has complained about a system I have built that way. For my use I will go that way next time, the built in graphics are now more than enough for me. I guess if I had to build a system for intensive graphic use I'd go with a high end card, but I am unlikely to need to do that. My guess is that the on-chip stuff is good enough to eliminate the need for a good chunk of the low end graphics cards. 10 years ago I would always go with a graphics card, now not so much.

    What do you think/do?
     
    mayhem and the_shootist like this.
  26. mayhem

    mayhem A Different Perspective Seeker

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,330
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Dixie
    Well I just put one together with a AMD chip, 8gig and a 1 terrabyte drive I had, so I didn't go with a SSD,(yet) I used the onboard graphics, and run some tests that said the graphics were the weakest part of the system. Hey, I haven't built one in at least 6 years and everything has changed. I was given a ASUS MB along with the chip, it only has one slot (I assume it was designed for gaming) I have a NIVIA card laying around and thought I might put that in and see if it helps. No I don't do gaming, and the build really is fine for what I do now-a-days. I mostly use this Acer Chromebook in Dev mode, with Cruton and Linux, because I'm to lazy to flash it with SeaBois and just kill the Chrome OS all together.

    It's not like I'm going to scrap it and start all over. :-)
     
  27. ErrosionOfAccord

    ErrosionOfAccord #1 Global Warmer Gold Chaser Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    2,072
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Energy Extraction
    Location:
    Coal Country
    If I were to build one, I'd go high end on the graphics card. I don't game often enough to justify it anymore but, it's nice to have when you decide to buy a game. I've been a fan of ID Games since Quake and threw down on the latest rendition of DOOM. Had my neck fused and needed something to pass the time. I played it on a six year old MSI laptop that just barely got the job done. When I bought the machine it was close to the high end of the spectrum, cost about $2000. If this machine ever breaks beyond repair I'll replace it with another MSI, it's been the best computer I've ever owned including those I've built. Last word, I'll never own anything by HP again.

    Bonus last word, ESET for virus software.
     
  28. mayhem

    mayhem A Different Perspective Seeker

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,330
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Dixie
    If I add the drivers and stick the Nivia card in, will the processor know that it no longer needs to do graphics, and will I gain any performance? AMD is new to me, and I been asleep for 6 years.
     
  29. Zed

    Zed Size doesn't count! Midas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10,488
    Likes Received:
    8,151
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Nuclear Technician
    Location:
    Springfield
    I used an A10 on the last build for a relative. I might bench mark the graphics next time I am around there, you have me curious now. I never thought too much about it because I knew they'd be sufficient.
     
  30. Zed

    Zed Size doesn't count! Midas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10,488
    Likes Received:
    8,151
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Nuclear Technician
    Location:
    Springfield
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2016
    mayhem likes this.
  31. Zed

    Zed Size doesn't count! Midas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10,488
    Likes Received:
    8,151
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Nuclear Technician
    Location:
    Springfield
    Yes, the OS should use the card drivers and just ignore the on-chip stuff + you will be plugged into the back of the card so the OS will not see a monitor present on the chip controlled graphics ports.
     
    mayhem likes this.
  32. nickndfl

    nickndfl Midas Member Midas Member Site Supporter ++

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    9,286
    Likes Received:
    6,457
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Florida
    I edit lots of bulky video in my business and must have very capable computers or there is not enough time to perform other tasks. The best all around notebooks for business are Dell Latitudes. Mine have i7s and 256gb SSDs. The SSD is a big difference from traditional spinning SATA HDDs. I also run 16 GB of RAM in each.

    I recently purchased a Dell return for $400 with W7 and a dedicated graphics card. The graphics are slightly better, but it gives it back in speed. I would rather have the speed for productivity reasons. In addition, I need W7 to run MS Streets & Trips which is no longer available. I have a backup copy of that.
     
  33. mayhem

    mayhem A Different Perspective Seeker

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,330
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Dixie
    I'm sure it isn't a A-10, I mean the guy gave it to me board and all. It is a gift for the grandson, wife decided that this morning.

    Going to be busy for a few days, gotta replace a Honda pressure washer carb and plug, then need to find out why this Gentrac 10 yr. old genset won't start.
    For me it life is day to day, and thank God I've been having some good ones lately.
     
    Zed likes this.
  34. searcher

    searcher Mother Lode Found Site Supporter ++ Mother Lode

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    103,021
    Likes Received:
    34,051
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Giving a 7-year-old computer a second life
    Stewie2552



    Published on Aug 8, 2015
    Fixing up and giving life to a 7-year-old computer. Basically a quick little vlog as I do some quick upgrades to make an old computer run like "new" again. This can be useful to get basic computers running again. Obviously, this isn't a mega upgrade, but for online usage and word processing, it works great.
     

Share This Page