1. Same story, different day...........year ie more of the same fiat floods the world
    Dismiss Notice
  2. There are no markets
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Week of 6/24/2017 Closing prices & Chg Over Last Wk---- Gold $1256.40 Silver $16.64 Oil $43.01 USD $96.94
  4. "Spreading the ideas of freedom loving people on matters regarding high finance, politics, constructionist Constitution, and mental masturbation of all types"
    Dismiss Notice

Do prospectors even find much nowadays?

Discussion in 'PM's - Coins - Numis - Base Metals' started by slackercruster, Feb 17, 2011.

1. slackercruster

slackercruster Seeker Seeker

I am brand new to prospecting and was kind of let down when I stumbled across this site today. Doesn't seem to be much found nowadays unless the finders are keeping quiet. Lots of little metal decteor jewelry finds, but where are the gold nuggets?

http://forum.treasurenet.com/index.php/board,9.0.html

A negative for me is I live in the Mid-Atlantic states and not out west. Never hear of gold being found in my local - just coal.

Do prospectors even find much nowadays? Or can one do better by just getting a 2nd job with ones time and buying PM outright?

2. Hope+Change

Hope+Change Gold Member Gold Chaser

Nope. You won't find any nuggets anywhere near the surface, sorry.

All of the gold and silver mined today is usually one thousand feet underneath a mountain, in the form of tiny nuggets mixed with solid bedrock. If you are very serious about prospecting, I would consider moving to the rockies and applying for a job at a gold or silver mine.

3. Shoden

Shoden New Member

First, the treasurenet forum seems to be more dedicated to hunting coins and jewelry than to finding gold nuggets, but I've seen some good gold prospecting posts on there too. For dedicated gold prospecting,, you might want to try the GPAA forum at http://www.goldprospectors.org/newforum/default.asp.