1. Same story, different day...........year ie more of the same fiat floods the world
    Dismiss Notice
  2. There are no markets
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Week of 6/24/2017 Closing prices & Chg Over Last Wk---- Gold $1256.40 Silver $16.64 Oil $43.01 USD $96.94
  4. "Spreading the ideas of freedom loving people on matters regarding high finance, politics, constructionist Constitution, and mental masturbation of all types"
    Dismiss Notice

Farm Land - cash rents vs. share rents

Discussion in 'Topical Discussions (In Depth)' started by Tecumseh, Jan 17, 2011.

1. Tecumseh

Tecumseh Silver Member Silver Miner

Any land owner's on the forum? Anyone care to share information about their rental agreements? What are cash rents in your neck of the woods and if you have a share rental agreement how does it work?

I'm new to this but will soon be negotiating with a farmer. Prior owner had the land under rent for $90 per acre which seems very low to me. To the west of me cash rents are running from $120 to $180 to the east I've heard as low as $70.

Just curious what others are getting and how they negotiate it.

2. pre-64'

pre-64' Slaying Debt for Gold Gold Chaser

Dont know anything about it except there is an ad in my area that says farmland for rent $500/acre.

3. Eat Beef

Eat Beef Gold Member Gold Chaser

It's all about the yeild.

If your farm will produce the same amount as the 180frn farm, all things being equal, then you're talking apples to apples. If your farm produces the same as the 70frn farm, you're 10 too high.

Of course any goobermint welfare will be backed out (or added in). With grains/commods on such a tear, it's likely you could get more rent than you have in the past.

One caveat; the 'x' factor is the quality of the tennant. I'd say if you have a good farmer in place, that's worth a good deal of money. The next one may pay you 5k per year more, but if he trashes the place (either literally or by raping the land), you'll end up losing money.