1. Stocks flat after recent runs. Metals flat to up.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good Thur Am. Gold is up slightly, +.5 to 1264, while Silver is up 2 to 1739. Crude is down 44 to 4918. The USD is down 5 to 9887.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Week of 4/22/2017 Closing prices & Chg Over Last Wk---- Gold $1289.10-- UP 0.60 Silver $17.85-- down 66 Oil $49.62-- down 3.80 USD $99.88 -- down 58

Kilo Silver Bar 'Brands' vs Coins. What is the difference?

Discussion in 'Purchasing Precious Metals' started by HorseNut, May 23, 2016.

1. HorseNut

HorseNut New Member

Technical Engineer for a major internet company
    Hello, everyone!

I am brand new to collecting silver. I already have quite a few 1 oz coins. Anything that I can get close to spot on. I have been reading, looking at eBay, Apmex, JmBullion, so many websites that I am not sure what to believe. One says one thing, another says another. Then, I found this forum and saw the incredible amount of knowledge of real people investing and collecting precious metals. I just had to join in. I am interested in buying 25, 50 oz and kilo bars at the moment. Then increasing the sizes, when I can. My question is about the differences in the bars. For lack of clarity let's discuss kilo bars. Why on earth are some 1-kilo bars going for a much higher price than others? Am I missing something? For example, right now JmBullion has 1 kilo bars as low as $557 and as high as $773.87 for Suisse Fortuna. To me .999 silver is silver, and the melt value is, all the same, depending on the price of the day. So, why would one want to spend more for let's say, Pamp, Valcambi, Johnson Matthey— now, I understand to be Asahi? Also, Scottsdale Mint, RMC, etc.
    Then, of course, there is the different types of bars, poured, matte, shiny, nugget, shapes. ... Does it honestly matter? Is it just for looks, like buying a pair of designer jeans, instead of a pair at the local Walmart?