1. Metals try to capitalize in market weakness with dollar weakness ie choppy
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good Thur Morning! Gold is down 1.3 to 1248. Silver is flat at 1757. Crude +16 to 4820. The USD is up 17 to 9964.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Week of 3/18/2017 Closing prices & Chg Over Last Wk---- Gold $1230.20-- UP 28.8 Silver $17.41-- UP 49 Oil $49.31-- UP 82 TICS USD $100.11 -- DOWN 100 tics Based on near term futures contract--- At JMB Current price AGE 2017 $1299.09 (1), SAE $20.54 (20)

NSA Intel Spying

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Alton, Jun 20, 2016.



  1. Alton

    Alton Gold Member Gold Chaser

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,588
    Likes Received:
    2,283
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michiana
    Chip maker, Intel, has pulled the boneheaded stunt before but has seriously crossed the line this time. New Intel chips now have a "backdoor" where the NSA can enter your computer, view and copy all your files, even plant files on your computer even your computer is turned off. The only way to protect yourself is to unplug the computer from the wall at least when you are not using it. Even when you are using your computer the NSA can enter it, do things, and your computer will never know. Here's some of the details:

    http://alexanderhiggins.com/new-intel-cpus-come-powerful-built-secret-hidden-backdoor/
     
    REO 54 likes this.
  2. the_shootist

    the_shootist I self identify as a black '69 Camaro Midas Member Site Supporter ++

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    11,017
    Likes Received:
    10,447
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Architect
    Location:
    Cow Hampshire
    I run a 2010 macbook. I'm not concerned
     
  3. mayhem

    mayhem A Different Perspective Seeker

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    2,513
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Dixie
    I have been using a AMD quad core 5500, 3,300mhz for about two years now. My only gripe is they all have replaced the old BIOS with the latest tech. I understand the reason, but for someone who has been using Intel 086 computers since day one it's annoying to have to tell it every time I want to boot from a CD or USB drive. I assume there is a way around that, but I haven't found it yet.

    I went to a ADM chip when they put the video on the chip instead of having to buy a video card w/ a separate processor and ram. Mine works fine as my board has 16 gig of ram to support the chip.

    Shooter guy, are you sure that Mac doesn't have a 086 chip?
     
  4. jiikoo

    jiikoo Seeker Seeker

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    28
    boot order in the bios.
     
    mayhem likes this.
  5. mayhem

    mayhem A Different Perspective Seeker

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    2,513
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Dixie
    Yeah very familiar with the process. I have win 8.1 and Linux Mint in another partition. I had to shrink the partitions that win 8.1 had created because it doesn't want you to install any other OS. I kept Win because I use a couple of code compilers that have no Linux equivalent the last time I looked. What I did was to select "Other OS" and DVD and USB to load first then drive C. I did install Yum boot loader so's I could select the win 8.1 at the boot up menu. But it doesn't run quite right and is really slow. I also have another drive in the box that has win 7 and Linux Zorin is bootable. That one involves changing more settings in this no Bios to get it boot. I mostly boot to a SDCard drive that has "Tails" on it, that way nothing Gets written to the hard drive and run Hillberrys Bitch Bleach to clean it up..
     

Share This Page