• Same story, different day...........year ie more of the same fiat floods the world
  • There are no markets
  • "Spreading the ideas of freedom loving people on matters regarding high finance, politics, constructionist Constitution, and mental masturbation of all types"

added kitco ticker

<===Foolsgold

Gold Chaser
Platinum Bling
Site Supporter ++
Joined
Mar 31, 2010
Messages
3,898
Likes
3,445
Location
Pennsyltucky
#2
Very glad to see it. I will continue to buy from our sponsor JM Bullion though.
 

Usury

Platinum Bling
Platinum Bling
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
4,118
Likes
3,274
#5
I like a price ticker at the top, but for some reason it's making the format of menus display all wonky on my phone. Hmmmmm....
 

ErrosionOfAccord

#1 Global Warmer
Gold Chaser
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
3,040
Likes
3,063
Location
Coal Country
#6
I like a price ticker at the top, but for some reason it's making the format of menus display all wonky on my phone. Hmmmmm....
On my Iphone the menu automatically goes into a drop down menu as header space disappears. Everyone probably figured that out but I figure it doesn't hurt to say it.
 

REO 54

Midas Member
Midas Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
6,546
Likes
4,634
#7
Mucho better. Easy to see at top of page at a glance. Thanks Scorp.
 

stonedywankanobe

Gold Member
Gold Chaser
Site Supporter
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
2,021
Likes
3,696
#8
Why does Jmb's ticker always quote higher prices than the kitco ticker? Why is there not an agreed upon spot price? I find it disturbing.

Anyone?
 

GOLDBRIX

God,Donald Trump,most in GIM2 I Trust. OTHERS-meh
Platinum Bling
Site Supporter ++
Joined
Apr 4, 2010
Messages
6,530
Likes
6,727
#9
I like a price ticker at the top, but for some reason it's making the format of menus display all wonky on my phone. Hmmmmm....
Not only phones / smart phones. My home computer- stand alone CPU with a stand alone monitor now does the same thing.
To see the New Post section I have to go over to three dots (...) and pull it up from there.

The Watched Forum or Watched Threads I could do without.
I use the New Post section. Those two above I do not.

:computer: :totally steamed:
 

dacrunch

Platinum Bling
Platinum Bling
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
4,145
Likes
2,854
#10
Thanks - since the JMB ticker is "absent" from my laptop screen - blocked by one of my "filters" (tracker or spam or adblock or peerblock or ghostery)
 

mayhem

Другая перспектива
Silver Miner
Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
3,773
Likes
5,252
#12
Finally got it fixed properly,

So the nav menu is now full length rather than truncated

Outstanding,

much mo bettah
Not so fast Mister... Look at this....

EDIT: Screen shot deleted by mayhem.
 
Last edited:

Scorpio

Скорпион
Founding Member
Board Elder
Site Mgr
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
24,724
Likes
27,707
#13
Yeah I hear ya,

That is due to responsive styling, of which the shitko ticker doesn't like to participate,

As screen size increases, then that goes away. I noticed that as I was testing it.

So yeah, I need a workaround for it or just toss the damn thing and be done with messing with my header.

That I am planning to fix when I work on the logo and Nameplate in the header,

Fixed one thing, and another pops up is all it is.

First of all, I wanted the menu proper

kitco finish.jpg
 
Last edited:

mayhem

Другая перспектива
Silver Miner
Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
3,773
Likes
5,252
#14
Yeah I hear ya,

That is due to responsive styling, of which the shitko ticker doesn't like to participate,

As screen size increases, then that goes away. I noticed that as I was testing it.

So yeah, I need a workaround for it or just toss the damn thing and be done with messing with my header.

That I am planning to fix when I work on the logo and Nameplate in the header,

Fixed one thing, and another pops up is all it is.

First of all, I wanted the menu proper

View attachment 88543
The > > > disappeared when I decreased the size. These old eyes need as large a type face as possible.

On another note you are like me, always seeing a better way, and always tinkering and fine tuning.

Keep up the good work Scorp, I know I appreciate your efforts in making the forum look good.
:thumbs up 2:
 

GOLDBRIX

God,Donald Trump,most in GIM2 I Trust. OTHERS-meh
Platinum Bling
Site Supporter ++
Joined
Apr 4, 2010
Messages
6,530
Likes
6,727
#15
Me 2

 

Scorpio

Скорпион
Founding Member
Board Elder
Site Mgr
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
24,724
Likes
27,707
#17
No, a lot of guys access this place on tablets or phones. That is where the issue comes in.

The screenshot I used only 1/2 of my monitor size, which is somewhere around a 21, and it is fine.

Using smaller screens or hitting Ctrl + to increase size, is going to bring on those issues.

It still needs to be rectified somehow. Just have to get my brain around it.
 

ErrosionOfAccord

#1 Global Warmer
Gold Chaser
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
3,040
Likes
3,063
Location
Coal Country
#18
Using the zoom feature changes the layout a lot. So you old guys who are zoomed in 170% are going to get a whole different experience.
 

mayhem

Другая перспектива
Silver Miner
Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
3,773
Likes
5,252
#19
Most of old guys wouldn't have a problem if the default font size in the post boxes was larger. But that brings up the problem Scorp mentioned of folks accessing via phones and tablets. I'm on a Chromebook and the screen is a hair;s bit bigger than a large tablet so I have to zoom to 150% for a easy read. The font face matters also, if it was Ariel or Tahoma it would be easier to read at 100%. Now on my desktop w/22" monitor I can read 100% fine.

Ole Scorp is just trying to find a middle ground, and I'm OK with whatever he decides on, I'm adjustable, says my wife.

If I was using my phone or tablet more than a laptop/desktop I'd be asking Scorp to install TapaTalk. All the big forums I visit use it and phone folks seem to really like it.

Tapatalk
Tapatalk layers on top of community software to provide a seamless mobile experience for your members. Tapatalk's mission is to lift your community engagement on ...
https://tapatalk.com
 

Scorpio

Скорпион
Founding Member
Board Elder
Site Mgr
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
24,724
Likes
27,707
#21
another issue popped up that GH found,

on tablets, as screen size gets smaller, the header starts messing up,

as it resizes, things start moving around and the 'add new post/thread' disappears on the forums with no subforums.

need to find a fix for that.
 

Scorpio

Скорпион
Founding Member
Board Elder
Site Mgr
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
24,724
Likes
27,707
#22
Hey GH,

The charts were in the wrong place affecting a few things.

took the code and moved it to the proper location, and now things are aok.

We have the fix, thanks for the heads up
 

Scorpio

Скорпион
Founding Member
Board Elder
Site Mgr
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
24,724
Likes
27,707
#24
yeah, kind of a bitch,

I have a test template to check stuff to work,

One particular thing been working on, works fine on the test plate, but doesn't work on the other plates

Takes a long time to try to find the issue then put it to the rest of the color schemes or templates

Then the guys working on small screens throw me for a loop as typically I never see the issues that crop up.
 

Scorpio

Скорпион
Founding Member
Board Elder
Site Mgr
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
24,724
Likes
27,707
#25
still working on the title and logo,

does anyone have a decent photo program that can create a transparent pic and add the gim round along with the title to it?

Please advise as mine looks terrible

Also decreased the size of the jmb charts as they were backgrounding on me
 
Last edited:

mayhem

Другая перспектива
Silver Miner
Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
3,773
Likes
5,252
#26
Can't help you with the round pic, but the changes made a world of difference here. Only suggestion I have (when you find time) is to change the type face of the posts from Times Roman to Ariel or Tahoma like the rest of the forum.
 

mayhem

Другая перспектива
Silver Miner
Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
3,773
Likes
5,252
#28
yeah, the type face needs work also as it isn't crisp

not good to do this without a decent program to tighten it all up
Like I said not urgent, but add it to the to-do list. Probably in the same php file as the paddinng was.
 

Goldhedge

Moderator
Site Mgr
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
31,019
Likes
38,528
Location
Planet Earth
#29
Send it to me Scorp I have a program...
 

Scorpio

Скорпион
Founding Member
Board Elder
Site Mgr
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
24,724
Likes
27,707
#30
Si Senor'

It is in your pm,

Have fun with it, screw around a bit and see what you come up with.

In the meantime, I am going to quit for the time being

had enough fiddlin' around

tumblr_mnj2my6MvV1s9pzsmo1_250.gif
 
Last edited:

mayhem

Другая перспектива
Silver Miner
Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
3,773
Likes
5,252
#32

mayhem

Другая перспектива
Silver Miner
Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
3,773
Likes
5,252
#33
Si Senor'

It is in your pm,

Have fun with it, screw around a bit and see what you come up with.

In the meantime, I am going to quit for the time being

had enough fiddlin' around


View attachment 88586
I for one understand what you said.

BTW: I you want add me to your DM list and if you have a ?? or two I here to help when I can. Promise not to abuse.
 

mayhem

Другая перспектива
Silver Miner
Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
3,773
Likes
5,252
#36
This is UGLY, But I have expressed my opinion on this font more than once.
 

Attachments

GOLDBRIX

God,Donald Trump,most in GIM2 I Trust. OTHERS-meh
Platinum Bling
Site Supporter ++
Joined
Apr 4, 2010
Messages
6,530
Likes
6,727
#38
still working on the title and logo, does anyone have a decent photo program that can create a transparent pic and add the gim round along with the title to it?
Please advise as mine looks terrible
Also decreased the size of the jmb charts as they were backgrounding on me
Personally, every time you tweak the site I like it that much better.
 

Scorpio

Скорпион
Founding Member
Board Elder
Site Mgr
Sr Site Supporter
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
24,724
Likes
27,707
#39
finished for now. Changed the header color all skins/styles to black with matching logo colors. The colors now change everything x the header as you choose viewing style to personal preference.

style chooser.jpg