• "Spreading the ideas of freedom loving people on matters regarding metals, finance, politics, government and many other topics"

Really weird-tasting rice from my preps...

Nickelless

If coffee is gold, I own Fort Knox
Midas Member
Reaction score
This is the first batch of rice I've had from my stash in a while, primarily because I've been working seven days a week since losing my wife two years ago and haven't had time to cook much at all at home. I finally got caught by the Omicron variant this past Friday, the worst of the symptoms seems to have abated about 48 hours ago, but I'm still self-quarantining until probably Monday. So I thought I would throw some rice, veggies and spicy brats in the crockpot to simmer for several hours, but when I thought I'd try a bite about six hours into the cooking, while the rice wasn't yet fully cooked, as I hadn't expected it to be yet, I couldn't get over how much it tasted literally like chalk. This batch of rice has a rather off-putting aftertaste that I don't think I'm going to be able to stomach. This rice actually came from a gallon-sized mason jar that hadn't been opened in years, rather the one of the large mylar bags full of rice that comprises most of my stash. I'm wondering if this is what has given the rice this taste, although it doesn't seem metallic per se. I really need a rice cooker to give it a more thorough cooking than the crockpot, but I'm wondering if the problem is the rice, the way it has been stored or the way I was cooking it. I really don't want any rude surprises with my food supplies and am open for advice.

Last edited:

Usury

Site Supporter
Site Supporter
Platinum Bling
Reaction score
Good to hear from you Nick. Sorry to hear about the wife and COVID. Hope you feel better soon.

Maybe try cooking another batch with Mylar bagged rice and report back? If it tastes foul try fresh rice….perhaps the big affected your taste buds?

Nickelless

Midas Member
Reaction score